

News Release

For Immediate Release October 24, 2024

For More Information Shelley Powers, Communications Director 601.359.9431 or spowers@pers.ms.gov

Terrance Yarbrough elected to PERS Board of Trustees



Terrance Yarbrough, Mississippi Department of Transportation Human Resources deputy administrator, has been elected as one of two state employee representatives on the Public Employees' Retirement System of Mississippi (PERS) Board of Trustees.

At its October 23 meeting, the Board certified the results of the runoff election between Yarbrough and Allan Cooper, Mississippi Department of Finance and Administration budget officer.

Yarbrough is filling an unexpired term which runs through June 2026.

The 10-member PERS Board includes the state Treasurer, a gubernatorial appointee who is a member of PERS, two retirees, two state employees, and one representative each of public schools and community colleges, institutions of higher learning, counties, and municipalities. With the exception of the state Treasurer and the gubernatorial appointee, board members are elected to staggered six-year terms.

For more information about PERS, visit www.pers.ms.gov.